YPC Launches Groundbreaking Transient Glory Commissioning Series

YPC Launches Groundbreaking Transient Glory Commissioning Series

YPC Artistic Director Francisco J. Núñez creates Transient Glory, YPC’s first commissioning series, to encourage the most respected, established and emerging composers of our time to recognize the children’s chorus as a serious and glorious instrument capable of making music of the highest quality during that fleeting period of time when their voices are imbued with a particular poignancy and innocence.

The first composers to accept a commission from YPC were John Tavener, Elena Kats-Chernin, Michael Torke, and Nora Kroll-Rosenbaum. Since then, YPC has commissioned and premiered new compositions from a “who’s who” of composers, most of whom had never before written for young voices, energizing and expanding the repertoire for young voices. 

Following the release of YPC’s third Transient Glory recording, of works by John Corigliano, Michael Gordon, Terry Riley, Paquito D’Rivera, Bora Yoon, and Meredith Monk, WQXR –  New York City’s longtime classical music station –  commented:  “Transient Glory III” offers a glimpse of what makes the Young People’s Chorus such outstanding interpreters: the solid, elegantly-controlled and blended sound one would expect from a mature ensemble, combined with the bold and adventurous energy of youth.

Read more about the Transient Glory Program.

Video Part One

Video Part Two

Explore more highlights